January 31, 2014

The third meet in the 2014 Indoor Mile Series had another big turnout despite the Friday afternoon start time. A total of 57 runners in 4 heats, just one less than last meet’s record turnout, showed up at the Multi-Sport Facility. This week’s meet was being run in conjunction with the Penn State National meet, and that meant a busy competition schedule. The track was closed to warm-ups, so people had to go outside where, luckily, temperatures were near 40.

The “slow” heat featured many runners making continued improvement. Sarah Irwin shaved 17 seconds off her time of Meet 2 to finish first in 5:59.42. Newcomer Nicholas Gildow was second in 6:00.77. Michael Straw, who has peeled over 70 seconds off his time in 3 meets, came within 3 seconds of meeting his goal of sub-6, finishing 3rd in 6:02.86. Indoor Mile Series Director Marty Klanchar chopped a big chunk of time off his previous season best, finishing under 6:20. David Lloyd came within 2 seconds of his elusive sub-7 goal, and ran a personal best in the meantime. Leah Brandt, who broke 7 in her last try last year got pretty close in her first try this year and put herself in reach of a new PR.

In the second heat, Drew Belnick was obviously placed in the wrong heat as he blew away the field in 4:53.85. That time would have won the faster Heat 3 as well. Second was Mike Renz, who turned in a time of 5:22.01 on his first time out this Series. Close behind him was Mike Zimmerman in 5:23.73. Judd Michael gave up his pacing duties for the week to see what he could do. Judd finished about a half-minute faster than his previous runs in 5:28.11. And Meira Minard took a break from last Meet’s torrid Women’s Masters Mile Record pace but still had enough to guarantee a Women’s Masters Mile Series record (sum of best two season times). Maybe Meira will take a crack at the Master’s 3K record next week.

Heat 3 saw the continuing Masters battle between older guys who can go sub-5. (Nick Berra, the king of Mile Series old guys, has the stuff to go under 4:30, but he wasn’t here this week.) After Derek Gerberich (non-Masters) crossed the finish line first in 4:54.26, it was Steven Williams, Andy Maguire, and Chip Kogelman, respectively, all Masters and all within 2 seconds of each other. Andy Cunningham may have had the closest sub-5 ever run at the Series, finishing 5th in 4:59.99! Heat 3 also saw the Bicycle Shop Throwdown between shop owner and masters biking champ Erik Scott and Bike Shop team member Josh Cone, who directs fitness programs at the State College Y. Cone won this round in 5:04.61, with Scott about 4 seconds back, close enough to demand a rematch. Newlywed Megan Marshall (née Hutchinson), who last yer became the Women’s Series Record holder, is coming off an injury, but still managed to turn in the fastest female time of the day, sub-5:40.

The fast heat always thrills. Nick Berra was not around to challenge current Series leader Will Mitchell, so Douglas Jordan pushed the pace, but fell back after half a mile. Will showed he could run without a push, improving almost a second over last meet’s time despite shaking an injury. Jordan and Timothy Appman were 2nd and 3rd, respectively, in just over 4:30. Megan Marshall’s track date, her husband Eric, made a fine first-ever showing finishing in 4:49.46.

Next week’s Meet 4, on Friday, is the last in the Series. There will be heats of the mile and a heat of the 3K, plus a Predicted Time Contest, and an award ceremony for Series winners, record breakers, and best time predictors. Details are on the Indoor Mile Series page. Don’t forget to sign up by Wednesday!


Josh Cone gives a nervous smirk before the Bicycle Shop Throwdown in Heat 3


Erik Scott looked confident toeing the line for the Bicycle Shop Throwdown

Heat 1

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----
 1.    Sarah Irwin             5:59.42
 2.    Nicholas Gildow         6:00.77
 3.    Michael Straw           6:02.86
 4.    Fred Wright             6:05.57 (M)
 5.    David Miller            6:06.39 (M)
 6.    John Wilcock            6:10.55 (M)
 7.    Emily Woodward          6:17.47
 8.    Marty Klanchar          6:17.74 (M)
 9.    Caitlin Maher           6:19.85
10.    Beth Shisler            6:20.88 (M)
11.    Jane Brooker            6:21.31 (M)
12.    Jim Maras               6:46.75 (M)
13.    Marty Mazur             6:48.29 (M)
14.    David Lloyd             7:01.33 (M)
15.    Leah Brandt             7:11.96
16.    Vlada Tobon             8:03.31 (*)

* Due to an lap counting error, this runner only ran 7 laps. The time listed here is an extrapolation.

Heat 2

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----
 1.    Drew Belnick            4:53.85
 2.    Mike Renz               5:22.01
 3.    Mike Zimmerman          5:23.73
 4.    Judd Michael            5:28.11 (M)
 5.    Don Bond                5:36.73 (M)
 6.    Jaimie Wright           5:41.63
 7.    Johanna Ohm             5:43.07
 8.    Kaitlyn Johnston        5:43.34
 9.    George Lesieutre        5:45.38 (M)
10.    Meira Minard            5:47.54 (M)
11.    Joey Stolz              5:48.59
12.    Mike Martin             5:50.24
13.    Ashlee Dere             5:50.78
14.    Frederick Tyler         5:52.45

Heat 3

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----
 1.    Derek Gerberich         4:54.26
 2.    Steven Williams         4:56.98 (M)
 3.    Andrew Maguire          4:58.19 (M)
 4.    Chip Kogelman           4:58.71 (M)
 5.    Andy Cunningham         4:59.99
 6.    Matt Abbate             5:03.94
 7.    Joshua Cone             5:04.61
 8.    Robert Furmanek         5:07.33
 9.    Erik Scott              5:08.66 (M)
10.    Luke Nigro              5:10.46
11.    Kiet Vo                 5:10.55
12.    Nicholas Kello          5:19.72 (M)
13.    Mark Hawkins            5:24.98 (M)
14.    Megan Marshall          5:39.55

Heat 4

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----
 1.    Will Mitchell           4:26.25
 2.    Douglas Jordan          4:31.32
 3.    Timothy Appman          4:32.90
 4.    John Lacy               4:33.27
 5.    Dan Craighead           4:37.06
 6.    Paul Grieve             4:37.97
 7.    Tim Flynn               4:38.13
 8.    Sean Dooling            4:39.12
 9.    Brad Thompson           4:47.30
10.    Jordan Holder           4:48.25
11.    Eric Marshall           4:49.46
12.    Thomas Stitt            4:49.57
13.    Matthew Martino         4:55.91

M - Indicates Masters (40 and over) runner