2005 Nittany Valley Running Club Indoor Mile #2
Friday, January 28, 2005
by Marty Mazur

The second Nittany Valley Running Club Indoor Mile ended up being a hurried affair. The two heats were moved up by 10 minutes to aid the scheduling of later collegiate events. Runners arriving at what they thought was an early time for the first heat found they had little time to warm up, and some late arrivers had to run in the second heat or scratch.

Lars Selmer-Larsen took first overall again, running his laps in metronome fashion and improving by about a second-and-a-half over his last mile two weeks ago. Matt Manfred shaved 4 seconds off his last mile. Two first-timers (for this year), Chris Ritter and Ken Davis, rounded out the sub-5ers. Matt Newcomb also shaved a couple of seconds off his last mile. Boyd Brumbaugh rounded out the first heat finishers with the best Masters time, though 9 seconds slower than two weeks ago.

In the second heat, late-comer Ken Poli took first in 5:08.92. Tim Brenza and John Daley battled it out for second and third with Brenza beating Daley at the finish line and each shaving significant hunks of time off their previous efforts. The second heat also saw Erin Wyble improve her best-female time by over half a second. She finished 4th in just under 5:51. Marty Klanchar put in another respectable sub-6 mile and Marty Mazur and John Lacombe each shaved some time off their previous efforts. First-timer Christina Rice put in solid effort to finish in 7:40.

The third meet in this year's series on February 5 will feature one heat each of the mile and the 3000 meter run.


Heat 1

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----

 1.    Lars Selmer-Larsen       4:34.54 
Matt Manfred             4:45.02 
 3.    Chris Ritter             4:56.51
 4.    Ken Davis                4:58.25
 5.    Matt Newcomb             5:09.20
 6.    Boyd Brumbaugh           5:30.15  (M)

Heat 2

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----
 1.    Ken Poli                 5:08.92
 2.    Tim Brenza               5:40.24

 3.    John Daley               5:40.60  (M)
 4.    Erin Wyble               5:50.87
 5.    Marty Klanchar           5:58.09  (M)
 6.    Marty Mazur              6:14.87  (M)
 7.    John Lacombe             6:31.34  (M)
 8.    Christine Rice           7:40.13

  (M) - Designates Masters (over 40) runners.

Back to Indoor Mile Results Page.
Return to NVRC home page.