2007 Nittany Valley Running Club Indoor Mile #1
Saturday, January 13, 2007
by Marty Mazur

The first NVRC Indoor Mile of the season always seems to come too soon after the Christmas Season. It's tough to run fast after a few too many cookies. But about 21 runners showed up for the event, and some got through the Holidays better than others. The first heat was quick. Matt Manfed ran alone and won in 4:41. But there are several runners with a legitimate shot at sub-5 a little later in the season. Tim Aydin is on track, finishing second in 5:03. Andy Cunningham can certainly do it by shaving off 6 seconds. And Lance Bland also turned in a time within 10 seonds of the 5 minute mark. A couple more runners need to work a bit harder, but have a shot. Bill Maloney was 5th in 5:14, and Andy Mazur was 6th in 5:17. Meira Minard was the fastest female of the day, doing her mile in 5:48. The second heat had Dan Guss coming from behind in the last two laps to take first in 5:58. He was the only sub-6 in that heat, but several others came close. Marty Klanchar, Mike Philippe, and John LaCombe were all under 6:05. And Tara Murray, who was just trying to go under 6:30, ran a solid 6:10 in her first stab at the event. Jerry Steffy, NVRC President and guiding light of the Beginner's Running Group, ran a solid time and beat Marty Mazur for the first time in the mile (as did John LaCombe). Marty needs a big improvement (21 seconds) to go sub-6 again this year. The Beginner's Group was well represented today. Jery led the way, but Pam Scott and Vicki Summers got their feet wet as well. Both were trying to go under 7, and both made it with time to spare. The Beginner's Group also supplied much of the non-running cheering section. We'll be seeing the rest of them in coming meets.


Heat 1

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----

 1.    Matt Manfred             4:41.74
 2.    Tim Aydin                5:03.56
 3.    Andy Cunningham          5:05.32
 4.    Lance Bland              5:09.32 (M)
 5.    Bill Maloney             5:14.15
 6.    Andy Mazur               5:17.74
 7.    Boyd Brumbaugh           5:21.42 (M)
 8.    Brian Russell            5:33.27
 9.    Meira Minard             5:48.13
10.    Erin Wyble               6:15.90

Heat 2

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----
 1.    Dan Guss                 5:58.73 (M)
 2.    Marty Klanchar           6:02.05 (M)
 3.    Mike Philippe            6:02.38
 4.    John Lacombe             6:03.73 (M)
 5.    Tara Murray              6:10.77
 6.    Shaun Wood               6:13.19
 7.    Jerry Steffy             6:14.51 (M)
 8.    Cheryl Capone            6:14.69
 9.    Marty Mazur              6:20.77 (M)
10.    Pam Scott                6:45.09 (M)
11.    Vicki Summers            6:54.28

  (M) - Designates Masters (over 40) runners.

Matt Manfred, Winner of the Fast Heat

Meira Minard and Cheryl Capone Stretch for the Race

Dan Guss, Fastest Second Heat Finisher

Tara Murray, Fastest Woman in Second Heat

Vicki Summers and Pam Scott

Fast Heat Toes the Line

Back to Indoor Mile Results Page.
Return to NVRC home page.