2005 Nittany Valley Running Club Indoor Mile #4
Friday, February 11, 2005
by Marty Mazur

The final race in teh 2004-2005 Indoor Mile Series was held at the Horace Ashenfelter III Multi-Sport Facility. Everone was more nervous than usual because of the "Predicted Time Contest". Runners did their laps without a watch and all were trying to match their own predicted time.
And not only that, but most of the runners had one complaint or another (stiffness, a lingering cold) that they could use as a fallback excuse. Lars Selmer-Larsen didn't bother with all these worries. He took the first heat in 4:35.96 as well as overall series. If we gave a prize for the smallest variance in time for the series, Lars would've won that, too. Matt Manfred took second in 4:40.31, his best time of the series by a smidge. Third was Chris Ritter in 4:54.69, also his best of the series. Boyd Brumbaugh took the Series Masters prize and ran 5:31.66 despite doing a 20 mile training run the day before.

In the second hear, Sarah Pabian led from start to finish and made up for her "7 lap mile" of last week by taking this week's mile in 5:48.01. Erin Wyble was second in 5:51.06 and took the overall women's Series prize. Marty Klanchar was third in 5:53.31. John Lacombe, Jim Taylor, and Christine Rice rounded out the field. Marty Mazur dropped out of the race after half a mile with a stiff hamstring. Christine Rice should get honorable mention for most improved runner. She shaved over half a minute off of her mile time in the course of the Series!

Full Series results are posted here. Predicted Time Contest results are here.


Heat 1

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----

 1.    Lars Selmer-Larsen       4:35.96
Matt Manfred             4:40.31
 3.    Chris Ritter             4:54.69
 4.    Ken Davis                5:01.05
 5.    Matt Newcomb             5:08.59
 6.    Andy Cunningham          5:09.34
 7.    Boyd Brumbaugh           5:31.66  (M)

Heat 2

Place  Name                      Time
-----  ----                      ----
 1.    Sarah Pabian             5:48.01
 2.    Erin Wyble               5:51.06

 3.    Marty Klanchar           5:53.31  (M)
 4.    John Lacombe             6:31.15  (M)
 5.    Jim Taylor               6:38.67
 6.    Christine Rice           7:17.40
 7.    Marty Mazur                DNF    (M)

  (M) - Designates Masters (over 40) runners.

The fast heat starts lap 1

Back to Indoor Mile Results Page.
Return to NVRC home page.